Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Algebrawesome
Or not. I wanted to take things slow this semester with the move to Germany, so I signed up for only one course. My classes run on 8 week semesters, so 1 course counts half time, I suppose. I generally take two. Anyways, I decided that I would take this course as it is a requirement for my Bachelors. I am generally a straight 3.75 GPA student, but I don’t think I can keep that up this semester. I can write a 20 page report on psychoanalyzing a bullfrog, but algebra is kicking my butt! So I am sad about this and I will try my hardest on this course, but I will be happy as long as I pass with a C.

We finally got our household goods in last Wednesday and have been busy busy setting up house. I love this place! The house is the perfect size for our family and we even have room for a second baby whenever that eventually happens.

We have been buying many houseplants. Miles is partial to the Orchids (which he insists is a manly hobby because they look so badass ;) ). I like them all and I am just happy that they clean our air, look nice, and that Roscoe doesn’t seem hell bent on slaughtering them. I have forgiven my dog, by the way, and as long as I repress the mouse incident, my feelings towards him are warm and fuzzy.

I am taking Lea to the Kaiserslaughtern Zoo tomorrow with my complete angel (I am thinking she should be nominated for sainthood) of a neighbor. Hopefully I can memorize enough German beforehand to get us season passes. Yay!

Okay. There is more newness concerning Lea, but I will write about it in my next blog. It is such a pretty day and the Phaltzervauld is calling.

Monday, March 23, 2009

Danielle finally spends money. Sign of the Apocalypse?

So Yesterday we went back to Mobile Martin (the largest furniture store I have EVER seen). We actually made it to the second floor only to discover that (gasp!) there were more table/chair sets available than previously anticipated. Quite lovely ones, too. Miles liked the corner/nook/booth sets. He found one that screamed "MAN DEN!" That was a big no way in my book, but I'll let him have his fantasies. He tended to lean towards the darker woods while I prefer medium to light. I just think that they give a room a cleaner, fresher look. There was this crazy looking tropic wood table that had every wood hue in it. I was in love! The only issue was that we could find no non-wicker chairs that matched. I like wicker, but we are planning for baby #2 and you cannot strap a space-saver to a wicker chair. Besides, they generally don't last as long. With us moving every few years, we want something sturdy. We were also working on a budget. German furniture is the best, but the price reflects that. We didn't plan for a cheap venture, but we could not afford the oh so lovely 8,ooo Euro Beach set, either. Which brought us to a shabby chic-style solid (but somehow still hard wood?) pine set. It's tinted white but shows the wood grain and knots. It really is lovely, and even though it is tinted white, I am sure that Miles likes it, too. Believe me, I pestered him for a solid half hour before I was reassured that it fit his taste. The set was on big-time sale (orig 3,000 Euro marked down to 1,400 for our buying pleasure). It comes with a similarly made "shrunk" that has skeliton key doors. I loved this part because our whole house works on skeliton keys and I have fallen in love with them. So before your jaw drops too far at the price, know that we do not have that kind of money to throw around. I have saved my extra GI Bill cash for MONTHS to be able to get this. Yeah. . . like a kid who gets an allowance from the VA. So this was a big deal for me and I am giddy about it. Our family is big on food and the family dinner while sitting together is very special to us. We are not into eating in front of the TV. I like for Miles to stuff his face while staring at my ugly mug:). So anyways, after the mouse fiasco, I wanted to treat myself. Ulcer aside, I feel treated.

Sunday, March 22, 2009

Critter Catastrophe

So anyone who knows me well knows that I have a wee bitty obsession with wee bitty animals-- rodents in particular. In Iraq, one of my NCOs had a poem published about a girl in his unit who continually collected and disposed of mouse traps and poison, though she was threatened repeatedly with bodily harm, UCMJ, and such. Wonder who that was. So I get here and finally get to do something that I have wanted to for a long time: get Lea her first pet that we can take care of together to teach her compassion and set the beginnings of a foundation of responsibility.
On several trips to the pet store, one mouse in particular caught my eye: she was long haired, very small, and just plain adorable. On the second trip, I bought her along with a cage know to be cat proof. This mouse was so sweet. If you stuck your hand in the cage, she would crawl into it or snuggle by it eating. It eventually came to my attention that she was getting cold at night and so I stuck her cage upstairs on the floor by the heater. The room has no traffic because it is a spare, and I keep the door closed. I also got her two girlfriends to huddle with. They were on their way to being sweet too. None bit. Lea LOVED them and ran around the house chanting “Mou, mou, mou!!”. She named the little one “WEEE!” I let her touch them (and thoroughly washed her hands right after) and she was so gentile and sweet.
So yesterday we went out for groceries and yesterday Roscoe learned how to open doors. He opened two doors to get into this room. When we arrived home, I found him in it surrounded by cage fluff. Needless to say, he killed all three mice. I have been sick over it since last night. Thank God Miles cleaned the mess. He told me that it was pretty horrible.
I am so upset with Roscoe. He didn’t even eat them, which somehow makes me madder. It’s like he just wanted them dead for no particular reason. I guess that I am so close to him that I don’t see him as a dog—more of just an extension of the human race. Like furry people. The thing is, I have never had a pet killing dog before and I am shocked at this. He is great with small kittens, Freddie, and I didn’t think he would even notice the mice. I feel like this is my fault for even bringing them into the house. Lea was with me when we discovered the mess and though I don’t think she understood, she cried. She has not said a word about the mice.
I know it’s stupid that I am this upset. I really love critters, though.

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Finally here

I arrived in Germany last Friday. The flight went well and Lea slept between Chicago and Germany. We were sitting next to very nice people who understood traveling with toddlers. I have been on flights before where people see that you have a child and ask to be moved away from you. It is not a very good feeling. So all went well on this trip. I was scared that it would be difficult to get Lea adjusted to the time schedule here, but all of my fears were unfounded. She has been just fine! I haven't had much jet lag issues, either.
So there is much that I have to become accustomed to here. The laws are more strict. The traffic signs and laws are entirely different and I have to get a German driver's license. The food is AMAZING. I have not met a single American in the town that I live in, but my neighbors are very nice and speak at least some English. I am working on my German.
The trash laws here are nuts. We have 5 containers that we must use to include compost. The largest our trash container can be for our family is 60 liters (about 3X the size of a standard kitchen trash can) and they only collect every other week. So basically everything gets recycled except for cat poop and baby diapers. I am an inch away from starting on cloth diapers anyhow. I don't know much about it, but it may have to happen here. I agree with recycling and have always done it, but I have never composted before and I am hesitant to have a huge trash organizer in my kitchen. 5 containers!
So anyways, I am here and it is awesome and will only continue to get more awesome as time passes. My town is adorable and quiet, my house is beautiful, my daughter is amazing, and my husband is my best friend.

On the note of my husband, he feels that he did not recieve enough attention on this post. Brat. So fine. . . . '
My husband is amazing. Yes. He has been here for a month and knows enough German to get around. He studied all the maps of the area and knows it better than people who have been here for years. He found an amazing house and struggled while I was gone to get internet set up for my classes that started last week. Whenever I am stressed, he knows exactly how much space I need, he forgives my petty outbursts, and thinks that I am cute when I have boogers in my nose. He is the best!