Monday, August 31, 2009

Mmmm yeah

Last week was rough. Lea is cutting some hefty molars and I was a tired, crampy hormonal mess. So who pays for my woes? My husband, naturally. How did he react? Prenatal massage at the new spa on Ramstein. Oh yes, good boy. I went in today and had my back done over by a huge German with hands big enough to strangle an elephant with. Hours later, I am still feeling like a wet noodle. I reek of lavender and eucalyptus and I am as happy as a pig in mud. I thought this was interesting, though: during a professional prenatal massage, they (or at least Germans) will not rub feet. They say that the pressure points in your feet send signals through your body to different organs and that this can harm the baby. I thought it was an interesting tidbit and it's something that I am going to look into. Have any of you ever heard that?

Something particularly spectacular is happening tomorrow. I will blog about it then, but I am practically wetting myself in anticipation.

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Worst dog ever

Roscoe ran away this morning. I had him on a lead in the yard (because he cannot be trusted and we know he can get out of the fence) and when I took him off to go inside, he bolted. I ran after him through the neighborhood in my bare feet (no time for shoes--he runs fast) and he got away from me. Considering that Lea was at home in the living room and Miles was upstairs sleeping off the night shift, I couldn't chase long anyways.

I am so upset right now. I have had this dog for years and I am sure that he is untrainable. I have taken him through trainers, I have walked him daily to work off his energy, I have boarded him with devout animal lovers only to be asked to NEVER bring him back, and I have had the German police called on us after he pretended to be Kudjo and scared a woman so badly that she was terrified to get out of her car. He has killed our pets, other people's pets, and I had to tube feed my mom's chicken for a week after he damn near broke her beak off. An entire neighborhood was out in 16 degree weather for hours searching for him when he took off during a snow storm 2 years ago. Believe me, that's the tip of the freaking iceberg. I have almost been evicted and/or arrested because of this dog on NUMERAL occasions.

I thought the challenge of having a dog like this was intriguing when I didn't have a family to take care of. Lea was in our living room alone because of him today. She could have been hurt and she's more important to me than the world's collective population of dogs.

Roscoe has yet to be found and I am honestly so frustrated right now that it's probably for the best that he doesn't come back just this moment. I will go out looking again in a few. I am just blowing steam.

I have never come across anything, person or otherwise, that is this difficult to love.

**Update**

He came home. I heard barking in the yard and it seems he let himself in. I am currently keeping him out of my sight.

Friday, August 28, 2009

Curious Armpits

I have been wondering about deodorants containing aluminum and whether they are safe to wear while breastfeeding. I found that The Agency for Toxic Substances and & Disease Registry reports that "Exposure to high levels of aluminum may result in respiratory and neurological problems." (http://naturalmedicine.suite101.com/article.cfm/aluminum_in_deodorant#ixzz0PSw3qFRA), but I have found nothing so far that specifically addresses deodorant and breastfeeding. I use Tom's so it's not a concern on my (or my children's') behalf, but I have wondering for a long time. I was led to the question through www.safecosmetics.org and their unnerving advertisements in Mothering (carcinogens in baby shampoo?! EEK). In any case, it's just a curiosity that I am looking into. If you guys have any good links or facts, hook it up :)

Monday, August 24, 2009

Done

It has been something close to two weeks since Lea last nursed. Wow. I was ready for this, but now that it's come and passed, I just hope that I went about it the right way and that the few times I changed the subject during her requests haven't hurt her in any way. In any case, I did the best that I could with this transition. I can at least say that.

I am taking a minority group relations class and a business management class this semester. I am happy to be going to school and grateful for the GI Bill and all that it has offered me and my family but I am getting a little burnt out. I was going to take a break but then checked out my degree audit and saw how far I have to go before I get my degree. It'll be about a year and a half at this point and rate, and I just couldn't justify a break now when I am pretty sure I will need one semester off in a big way when the baby comes.

I have been looking for a new couch for a while. I love the one we have but it's over 10 years old, has been with me through 5 moves and it's a little worse for the wear. Granted it's leather and the worn look is charming but I still have been looking. Well, I think I found the replacement. A new mall just opened on Ramstein AFB and I fell in love with an Italian leather set-- by far the most COMFORTABLE thing I have ever set my toosh in. So I am ordering it today :) The very best part? I talked Miles into ditching the huge unsightly microfiber bean bag chair. WHOO! As far as bean bag chairs go, it's about as nice as they come and yes it does match the living room, but it's a freaking bean bag chair! And my living room is neither a "man room" nor a college dorm. He's been pretty protective of the chair for a while but there's only so much a girl can take (insert evil laugh here).

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

We go to the zoo pretty much weekly, so here are a few pics from Saturday's visit.



She loves um "Weafs"



I was confused about how the porcupines could cuddle like that.


Ah



Cheese




I have always thought he is a handsome fella




18 (or is it 19? Umm. . . ) weeks pregnant. There's a bump I swear.



They carbonate juice here. Lea thinks it's fabulous.


It has been a solid 5 days since Lea's last nursing. She mentioned it this morning, but I was able to change the subject and she didn't make any fuss at all. I am thinking this is it. I am a little sad (deep down) that it's over and I may never nurse her again, but I believe that it's time. I now have about 4 1/2 months to "rest up". That's enough for me.

Ladies, I think I want to cloth diaper #2 and I am looking for good info on it. How do I wash, disinfect, etc cloth diapers? What are the best brands? Any books on the matter? HELP!

Thursday, August 13, 2009

It has been 36 hours since Lea's last 2 min. nursing session. I have been trying to distract her from breast feeding for a while, but I have issues with saying "no way" to her. In fact, I refuse to. Anyways, I think she is getting ready to stop on her own. It was very easy to steer her away from nursing this morning and it never even came up at nap time. Aside from trying to nibble on my cheeks and nose because it makes me giggle and she thinks she's hilarious (future class clown, I am sure), she was totally chill about going down to nap. I am surprised at how well she self-soothes considering she never cried it out. On the flip side, though she knows I am always right with her if she needs a hug or cuddle, when she's mad about something, the only way to calm her down is to do nothing. If I try to mommy her and hug on her, she screams "LEGGO-UMME!" and stops crying as soon as I put her down. She's my little tough as nails girl.

But I digress. I am sure that we are not totally done nursing, but there's the chance that this is our last month and that's just fine by me.


PS Half apple juice, half water with frozen pineapple chunks floating around. . . YUM!

Monday, August 10, 2009

Here are a few of the castle. It was built in the 1200s as a Roman outpost. Torn down during the Peasant War, it was rebuilt only to be destroyed again by the A-Hole French 20 years later. This is what is left:



Miles and Lea getting beat up by the wind



I was pretty tired from the hike.



The view from up top



The ruins

cooling my jets

Sometimes I need to get over myself and my biases. I am very opinionated and I tend to have black and white vision where things are either good or bad. This offers little room in the case of compromise and acceptance. I think it was Alder who stated that middle siblings usually possess as strong sense of justice and I am not an exception. When I see something that I don’t like, I say something and damn the consequences. It’s not really an endearing trait.

I am pretty big on child nutrition and breastfeeding. Years of breastfeeding classes, literature and LLL meetings have led me to believe that I know a thing or two about it. What I always failed to see was the opposite end of the spectrum and the consequences of passing judgment (even if not intentionally) on those who do not chose my path.

I always felt like breastfeeding in public earned me dirty looks. Friends and family have scorned my choice to breastfeed past the age of 12 months (many told me I should have weaned even earlier). I felt like a minority. Nudges of insecurity and the need to defend myself closed me off entirely to the emotions of those who don’t breastfeed. I am pretty sure that I need not tick off the merits of breastfeeding to the women readers of my blog, so I won’t go there.

Someone close to me recently decided to bottle feed after 2 or 3 days of attempting to breastfeed. When she told me, I couldn’t help to feel bad about it but it also made me want to support her decision. I tried to look up informational sites and support groups for bottle feeding infants. What I found instead were series after series of sites devoted to either the merits of breastfeeding or slandering those who chose to breastfeed. I found some guides to choosing bottles (http://www.ewg.org/babysafe). I think what disappointed me was that there was almost nothing (that my Google search could locate) for the mothers who simply want help and emotional support with bottle feeding. I did find this:

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/news/fullstory_86862.html

It was just a blurb, but I found a couple more like it. It was very disturbing to me. If a woman is going to use formula, she should be offered the education to do it in ways that best benefit her child. It also made me think of the insecurities that we all have as parents and how many of the things that both the bottle feeder and breast feeder go through are similar: public comments, varied feelings of insecurity, concerns about nutrition and food intake, etc. I found a couple of blogs and articles on failed attempts to breastfeed:

http://www.momadvice.com/parenting/bottlefeeding.aspx

In any case, my search helped me to find the connection between all of the mothers that I read about: for varying reasons and with various justifications in making their decisions, everything boiled down to women wanting what it best for their children. I can see things as wrong or right and that’s fine, but everyone has their reasons and their problems. Seeing bottle feeding as a cop-out or sign of bad parenting really doesn’t help anyone and from what I read, the majority of bottle feeding moms have experienced their fair share of guilt as it is. Support and education are what is needed for every mom, regardless.

I think that if I want to do any breastfeeding consulting (which I do, in one form or another), I should know about every way to feed a baby. I can’t get my heart broken over every baby with a bottle in its mouth (dramatic, right?!). Anyways, this blog was just some food for thought

Sunday, August 9, 2009

We went on a couple of little day trips this past week. One, of course, was the K-town zoo. Lea would tell me what the animals were (she called an emu a crane but otherwise was pretty dead-on) and then she would go up to the enclosures, get as close as she could, and go "hey, buddy". The way she sounded was so sweet and adoring she about broke my heart. I think that wild birds will be eating out of her hand in no time.








We also hiked up to a castle from a trailhead that's about 3 miles from the house. Shamefully, I admit it was the first time I had been. The hike was a couple miles, which I was not used to since it was pretty much up a mountain, but I made it, gosh darn it. Miles put Lea in the Kelty pack where she fell asleep. It was awesome and I will post some pics soon!

Other than that, the baby is kicking away and Miles felt it for the first time. He was pretty fascinated (for those who don't know, I found out I was pregnant with Lea the week after he left for a 15 month deployment, so he missed a lot with her). This baby has been moving a lot. When I went to see the midwife a couple of weeks ago, she was pretty surprised by all of the movement we could hear through the Doppler.

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Photos from Rhuedisheim

I know, I know. It's been forever since I have written. I was held up with the flu all last week. It was horrible! The baby is okay, though. 17 weeks and he or she is moving like crazy. We should be finding out soon enough what the flavor is. I am pretty excited to find out. Miles will finally pick out names with me!!


All of us (Daniel is struggling with Ms Lea, I think-- he's her boyfriend).

Miles being Miles. In the words of Shell, he's a pig but he's MY pig.

The boys.



Little Ms light of my life



We took this trip a few weeks ago. We went with or friends Jessie and her husband Daniel from church. The pics don't do it an OUNCE of justice, but there was so much to see. We took a lift up and over the vineyards along the Rhine River and up to the huge statue that overlooks Rhuedisheim. It was great and Lea loved it. We even got her a new baby in town. German shops are a bit odd, though. The only places where you can find children toys sitting next to vibrators. We had a few "oh my" moments. We also went to Trier a couple of days ago, but once again did not bring cameras. It was so crowded-- even for a Monday. Next week we'll be off to Cologne for a couple of days. We are trying to get a lot of travel in now while there is only one tiny tornado to bring along :). I think after Cologne we'll take a few days in Luxembourg. Hopefully I will have more photos up soon!!