Friday, May 15, 2009

So this was week was week 2 of Lea's swim classes. It is so much fun and my neighbor and I bought 10 more classes for our girls. They have the lessons in a heated (but not hot) mineral pool inside of a spa that is designed to look like a Greek bathhouse (minus the orgies). It's so cool! The classes have been a lot of fun. My neighbor has to translate for me, but it works out. I feel so blessed that I have her in my life because she is one of the few things keeping me from a state of complete social isolation. Anyways, Lea did really well in her classes this week and I am pretty sure that she loves them. She looks adorable in a pair of swimmies.

So I went yesterday to have blood work done so that I can get a referral to an OB, and they confirmed that I am indeed pregnant. I am nervous in that first trimester kind of way. I think that, day and night, some corner of my brain is always begging God for a healthy baby.

So 7 days ago, we boarded Roscoe for the week. He has been VERY destructive sine we've been in Germany. the mouse incidednt was the iceburg's tip. Last week I was gone for an hour and returned to find the bathroom DESTROYED. 5 rolls of chewed up toilet paper sitting over an entire bag's worth of scattered potting soil complete with sporadic bits of piss and poo littered the bathroom. He obviously hadn't wanted me to go. It took hours to scrub out of the grout and I decided that we needed a little break. The place I took him allows the cats and dogs to run freely through the house and is only 2 Euro per day. They also have several small animals in sturdy cages that they keep up. I warned them, I really did. I told them that Ros is a killer, but 2 slaughtered rats and a Guinea pig later, I don't think that our dog will be welcomed back. Ugh.

3 comments:

  1. the swim classes sound like so much fun and LMAO @ the "minus the orgies" bathhouse remark!! how neat that Lea will be learning both English and German. is your neighbor German or was she English-speaking before moving there?

    the first tri will be over before you know it. i pray that it passes quickly and is not as riddled with worry as before. ((hugs)) jason & i have been thinking of you and Miles a lot.

    my parents had a Boxer they had rescued from the pound (who had previously been mistreated) who was VERY destructive like Roscoe for many months. the vet advised doggie prozac for a while and to crate him when they had to leave him alone. it worked for him and he was able to be left alone and be med-free before 1 year had passed... maybe even by six months. anyway i hope that things work out and his behavior gets better.

    ReplyDelete
  2. My neighbor is German, but she's into Americana and is a complete angel. Her daughter is just a little younger than Lea, but they hang out together. It's the funniest thing to look down on them and see the tops of their little heads conspiring with one another.

    Thanks for your prayers!

    I don't know what to do with my tiny terrorist. I have had him for 4 years and he's such a headcase! When I first rescued him, I also bought him a bandanna that said "Hi my name is 'no no bad dog'." That's really what I should have named the bugger!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am so sorry about Rosco...maybe he will change in a few months once he gets settled, he might just be rebeling.
    I am glad Lea likes her swim classes, it sounds fun!
    I still haven't seen any pictures of your new abode!
    Hope your doggy shapes up soon!

    ReplyDelete